My life is short but it is meaningful and purposeful. How is yours?

Evaluation of Semester 4

Yes it is the end of the month, and again, I post my post on the very last time. This is mainly because I was busy (really) but perhaps partly because I was not committed enough to write more regularly. I need to be more committed perhaps. πŸ™‚

Now is the 2nd day of my 4th week in my 4th semester in NUS. Why don’t I just share what happened this sem?

There are some important things to take note of about this semester:

1. Up to today, I always came to my lectures. Sometimes I was 5-10 minutes late though, but I always came no matter what. This makes me proud in some sense. Why so? Because I have always had some lectures I didn’t attend during my first three sems due to various reasons including mere laziness. The worst record is last semester in which I had one module with my lecture attendance was only around 20% I guess (from total of 23 or 24 lectures I came only 4 or 5 times). What a bad boy I was! But relax, it’s not as bad as it looks because the lectures were webcast. And some more, those lectures were 8AM class. If you are NUS student, you would understand the struggle of having 8AM classes. πŸ™‚

Putting any justification not to attend lectures aside, I had made decision to try my best to come to every single lecture this semester even though it may be raining, the lecturer may be boring, the material may be too easy, etc. I think the most important thing is that I need to discipline myself. The discipline in attending classes, I believe, will induce my discipline in doing other things also! πŸ™‚

2. This semester is tough, probably the toughest for me so far. How so? Because I have 6 core modules with 24MCs. No one single module can be S/U-ed and among those six, three of them have group projects. The weight of the group projects are quite big also. All the deadlines for submissions are spanned throughout the whole semester. In short, I will be having a lot of project meetings!

Meanwhile, I am still the exco of GENUS (Guitar Ensemble NUS) and exco of ISCF (Indonesian Students Christian Fellowship). I can tell you that being excos in those groups are not easy jobs. If I may, I would count those commitments as another 2 modules which have homeworks almost every week, but luckily with no exams! And I am also involved in this Tembusu College Pilot Programme. I am sorry to the people there because I sometimes couldn’t come to their events because simply it clashed with my other CCAs. Tough decisions have been made in choosing which event to attend (many of them clash with each other, really), when should get more involved in which community, when should I have quiet time on my own to study and to think about various things, and so on.

3. I bought my iPhone4 9 days ago! I wanted this phone since December and finally bought it. The process till I get the phone on my hand was a miracle I think. God’s work was really being shown to me. Too many coincidences happened that night. If you know any of Dea, Inigo, or Tata, any one of them will verify to you that that night was just unbelievable. In short, my initial plan didn’t work as it was supposed to and in the very end, I got the iPhone with the 35% discount (this amount of discount exceeded initial expectation) on the monthly subscription fee. (Btw, I am under multi-line saver from M1 plan) That’s just amazing and that’s about it. Now the iPhone is by my side.

Quoting from my friend Hejing when she said it during GENUS comm meeting, “With great power comes great responsibility”. For me my iPhone is such a great power compared to my older phone. Here comes the responsibility part. I can utilise it in such a way it will help my study, make me be a more effective man, give me more entertainment, etc. But on the other hand, as my father always says, the technology may cause me not to study but instead to play all the time. What if I use my iPhone to play games all the time, to watch youtubes anywhere, to update facebook status again and again, to online in MSN 24 hours, to always get updated with soccer news, etc? Will I still have time to study and do my obligations then? Thus, with great power comes great responsibility. I am responsible to God for my time that He has already given to me. And with that in mind, I think I can be more responsible. πŸ™‚

Yup, that’s all for this post I guess.

Thank you for reading and hopefully we all can become better persons as the time keeps running.

Happy Chinese New Year in advance! πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

