My life is short but it is meaningful and purposeful. How is yours?

Short Nice Animation Movie

Okay. Here the story goes. I am now having a holiday in Jakarta, until Jan 3, before my flight to Washington DC for a semester exchange program with the George Washington University. And just today, this afternoon, I was surprised (in a positive way) to see a video posted by a friend on facebook about a short animation clip. While watching it, I learnt that it was made by some Indonesians because it was very “Indonesian-ly polished”: the language, the song, the characters, the bajaj (the little red vehichle which later on transforms into a robot), and basically everything!

Thereafter, I shared that video on my profile right away since I was proud that some fellow Indonesians are capable of doing such things. Well, I actually have no idea how difficult it is to produce such a clip since it’s not my daily cup of tea, but I’m sure it’s not that easy. Some pride of being Indonesian started to arise. I always knew Indonesia is a big country and full of potential, not only natural resources but also people potential. Some quick examples: under the guidance of Yohanes Surya, Indonesia had won a lot of medals in Asian Physics Olympiad and International Physics Olympiad. I am proud to say that I have some friends who were the medallists in those competitions (will even be prouder if I was the winner myself haha, but anyway, I’m good now). And please tell me how many talented Indonesians are pursuing higher study in developed countries. I myself know some friends studying in MIT, UCB, NTU, NUS (I also am an NUS student btw), and other good universities (most of them I don’t know what their universities are but they are in good countries like US, England, Germany, Australia, China, etc).

The point that I am trying to make is, Indonesia do have a potential to become a great country, at least we should be able to become the leader of South East Asia. The biggest challenge in my opinion is to clear the corruption mentality. And again, it’s always easier said than done. And by the way, to banish corruption in Indonesia, in fact, is the dream from a friend of mine (he said it 3 years ago) who is now studying Law in the University of Indonesia. Coming back to the short animation clip, I was imagining myself as someone of authority from the Indonesian government who had watched this online. And I thought I would directly called this group of people, and I would ask them to use their talents/capability/whatever-you-call-it to do something good for the country. It’s not necessarily be something of heroic story from Indonesia history. It can be of any story with good morale (and preferably spoken in English, if not, that’s fine). I would back them up with the resources they need. And hopefully they could create a movie that can go international which would lift Indonesia’s name up! 🙂

Discussing about aspects of life which need to be improved in Indonesia, apart from the corruption issue, I do have some other things in mind right now, such as education, philosophy, and English as a second national language. Education: I believe we must first nurture the younger generation because they are the successors of current leaders and their journey start when they enter schools. Perhaps, I will take a closer look into the current curriculum system and see if there could be any better system. The quality of teachers need to be improved, no doubt. And the mentality of students to study for the sake of learning must be developed somehow. This education issue is a very complex huge issue which will need a lot of resources to resolve. Continuing from education, I believe students from as young as SMP (junior high school) students should be introduced to philosophy. We will need to work on the curriculum and the availability of the teachers first of course, but still, I do think that introducing philosophy to students is necessary. And lastly, English. The idea is simple. To be able to go international (learn from other countries, influence other countries, make business with other countries, etc) we need English as it still is the lingua franca for now. I didn’t intend to discuss these issues in this post initially but I was tempted to, so here they are (in smaller scale). To sum up, the point in this paragraph basically is, apart from all the problems/weaknesses the country have, this country do have a strong potential to excel.

And, lastly, here is the video I was talking about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

